By: Senator(s) Bean

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 606

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 2 MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY AND EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR WILLIAM 3 "BUCK" STEVENS UPON BEING SELECTED TO RECEIVE THE FRED T. MAHAFFEY 4 AWARD AS THE OUTSTANDING BOARD IN THE UNITED STATES.

5 WHEREAS, the Mississippi State Board of Pharmacy has been 6 selected to receive the Fred T. Mahaffey Award as the outstanding 7 Board of Pharmacy in the United States; and

WHEREAS, the award will be presented to the board members in 8 9 a special ceremony at the National Association of Boards of 10 Pharmacy Annual Meeting in May in Albuquerque, New Mexico; and WHEREAS, this prestigious award is presented to that state's 11 12 board who, in the opinion of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, has made an outstanding contribution to (a) the 13 protection of public health and welfare through the enforcement of 14 15 state and federal laws and regulations, and (b) has advanced the 16 objectives and goals of the association, through communication, 17 cooperation, leadership and effective enforcement; and

18 WHEREAS, this recognition is largely a tribute to Executive 19 Director William L. "Buck" Stevens, who has been nominated for the 20 1999 Pinnacle Award sponsored by the American Pharmacy Association 21 and the Health Care Quality Association, and whose efforts have 22 challenged the profession to improve prevention and therapy in 23 infectious diseases, diabetes, asthma and many other conditions; 24 and

25 WHEREAS, the Mississippi State Board of Pharmacy has been 26 active in credentialing pharmacists in disease management, 27 drafting new regulations, registration of pharmacy technicians,

S. C. R. No. 606 99\SS02\R1401 PAGE 1 28 establishing a comprehensive internet website, and generally 29 improving the practice of pharmacy and helping pharmacists take a 30 more vital role in the health care process; and

31 WHEREAS, State Board of Pharmacy members include the 32 following: Leland "Mac" McDivitt, President; David Clark, 33 Vice-President; William Jackie Thompson, Secretary; Robert 34 Sullivan, Raymond Keith; Elizabeth Leflore and James Moore, Jr.; 35 and

36 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize a state 37 agency dedicated to improving health care quality for our 38 citizens:

39 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MISSISSIPPI STATE 40 SENATE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we 41 do hereby commend and congratulate the Mississippi State Board of 42 Pharmacy and its Executive Director William "Buck" Stevens upon 43 being selected to receive the Fred T. Mahaffey Award as the 44 outstanding Board of Pharmacy in the United States.

45 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 46 forwarded to Executive Director Buck Stevens on behalf of the 47 State Board of Pharmacy and be made available to the Capitol Press 48 Corps.